Sleeping Policemen, Banana Skins, and Kipling – tales from my jolly….part one

Jane Risdon

I should come with a Public Health Warning!

Sleeping Policeman (c) Jane Risdon 2014 Warning! Sleeping Policeman (c) Jane Risdon 2014

Do not go anywhere with this woman for fear of being embarrassed – she is an accident waiting to happen!

Sleeping Policeman - a/k/a a Speed Hump (c) Jane Risdon 2014 Sleeping Policeman – a/k/a Speed Hump (c) Jane Risdon 2014

Whilst out for a stroll enjoying the countryside and a lovely local village I came across a sign I have not seen for many years warning motorists that there was a Speed Hump across the narrow road.

It read ‘Dead Slow – Sleeping Policeman,’  warning those tempted to put their foot down along this quiet road that they would get a nasty jolt if they passed over it at speeds greater than a crawl.

  In England we call these humps ‘Sleeping Policemen’.  I have no idea why – I long gave up trying to fathom my own language.  I can only guess that being forced to…

View original post 1,548 more words

Leave a Reply

